The Finder in macOS allows users to back up and restore iPhones without the help of iTunes. Backing up and restoring iPhones with Finder is much easier than using iTunes.
Our previous guide showed you how to back up your iPhone to Mac using Finder. This guide will show you how to restore iPhone backup from Mac using Finder.
Before we tell you how to restore your iPhone, please be noted that when you restore your iPhone, your iPhone will be restored to the date and time when the backup was created. This means that all changes that you made after the backup will be deleted.
NOTE 1: When you restore the iPhone from a backup, all content on the iPhone will be erased.
NOTE 2: You cannot use your iPhone when it is being erased and restored. So, we suggest you restore your iPhone from the backup when you have close to an hour of free time.
NOTE 3: Ensure that your Mac is connected to a power source or has a full charge before starting the job.
NOTE 4: After restoring the iPhone, you will have to setup the face ID and password again. Likewise, you might be asked to enter your Apple ID password.
Restore iPhone backup from Mac Finder
Step 1: The first step is to plug in your iPhone to Mac with the help of the charging cable where you have previously backed up your iPhone.
Step 2: Unlock the iPhone and check if the iPhone is showing a ‘Trust this computer’ prompt. If yes, tap the Trust button.
Step 3: Next, open Finder on Mac. In the left pane, click on your iPhone’s entry to see details about your iPhone.
Step 4: Under the Backups section, you should see the Restore Backup button if you previously backed up your iPhone to this Mac. If the Restore Backup button is missing, chances are that the backup is not available on this Mac.
Step 5: To restore the iPhone backup, click on the Restore Backup button.
Step 6: Upon clicking the Restore Backup button, Finder shows a dialog with options to select the backup copy.
The dialog shows all the available backups (if you have created multiple backups) and the date when they were created. Select the one that you want to restore your iPhone to.
Step 7: Click the Restore button. If the backup copy is password protected, you will be asked to enter the password.
Step 8: Next, you will see the following dialog saying that the content on the phone will be erased before restoring the backup. Click the Erase and Restore button.
Step 9: On your iPhone, you might see the following prompt. Enter your passcode to let the restore process begin.
Step 10: Your iPhone will restart. Next, it will be erased to restore the backup.
Once erased, you will see the Restore in Progress on the iPhone screen. As said earlier, you cannot use your iPhone when the restore is in progress. The Finder window will also show the restore progress.
The time required to restore the backup to iPhone depends on the backup copy size. Do not disconnect your iPhone during the restore process.
Once the restore job is completed, a ‘Restore Completed’ message will appear on your iPhone screen. You may disconnect your iPhone now and start configuring and using it.
If you no longer need the backup copy, you can delete the iPhone backup copy to free up a good amount of space.