Unless you have changed the default settings of Windows Update or disabled Windows Update, Windows 10 usually downloads and installs updates without requiring your attention.
But that seems to have changed now. Many Windows 10 PC users are getting “Your device is at risk because it’s out of date and missing important security and quality updates. Let’s get you back on track so Windows can run more securely. Select this button to get going” message in the Windows Update page of Settings app.
Why are you getting “Your device is at risk” message?
The “Your device is at risk because it’s out date” warning message is new to Windows 10 users. The interesting part is that the message is showing up on PCs running the recently released Windows 10 Creators Update build. Apparently, the message shows up if you have not installed recently released security updates.
PC users would expect “Your device is at risk” kind of messages when running a 15 years old operating system like Windows XP.
When new updates are available for your Windows 10 PC, Windows 10 usually automatically downloads and install the same without showing any notifications. This new warning message is quite surprising since it’s appearing on PCs running a recently released Windows 10 build. Instead of this lengthy and scary message, Microsoft could have used better words to let users know that new security updates are available for Windows 10.
To check if you are also getting this warning message, navigate to Settings app > Update & security > Windows Update. In the Update status section, the warning message will appear. If the warning message is showing up there, simply click the Check for updates button to check if new updates are available and automatically install new updates, if available.
In short, if you are getting “Your device is at risk because it’s out of date” message, it simply means that you have not installed recently released security updates for Windows 10. Click the Check for updates button to check for available updates and install them. The message should vanish once the updates are installed.